My Heart


Intro
Thunder blends with rain and light,
It calls my heart in dark of night;
And sends word from the moon above,
That I should be much more in love.


Verse 1
Monday dawned with fog and foe,
A hazy morn, I shrank below;
My covers, beckoned me to stay,
At home, in bed, and safe today.


By afternoon I peeked and saw,
That perhaps beyond the door,
The fog did not exist and I,
Should tiptoe out to see the sky.


That sky was blue, did not undo,
The fear within my heart seemed true.
Then the fearful inner sound,
Dispelled the beauty I had found.


That night a sigh, so long and deep,
As I lay me down to sleep,
A tear for being overcome,
For fear and foe, and me undone.


Bridge
But in my dreams, my heart rode out,
My one true knight, my loyal scout.
Armoured truth, steed of love,
Heart joined soul, to rise above.


Verse 2
Tuesday morn a curious I,
Went out to play and find out why.
The tide and moon hold hands all day,
And why the sun has nought to say.


I piled my bounty on the grass,
And took my fears and foes to task.
For what am I if not these things?
That I would know before dark brings,
The moon again to shine.


So sat I beneath the oak,
The dappled light through leaf awoke,
A moment in the looking glass,
I glimpsed beyond the haze at last.


I am this light, sun shining through,
I am the oak, so deep and true.
The grass beneath, the rock so bare.
The wind, the rain, the flowers fair.


Dark did come, and moon did glow,
And cast her light on all my foes,
They’d changed to be not as I’d known,
But only tricksome seeds I’d sown.


Relief of sleep, to rest and seek,
That old familiar mountain peak.
Where dear heart, be free from debt,
From thought and deed, and past regret.


Bridge
And in my dreams, my heart rode out,
My one true knight, my loyal scout.
Armoured merry, steed of fun,
We danced beneath the midnight sun


Verse 3
Wednesday dawned with touch of fate,
To walk first time though garden gate,
That I had never seen afore,
And yet familiar symbols bore.


An old man waiting in the glade,
He knew me as a tiny babe.
We sat amongst my namesake so,
My heart could rest, and mind could go.


Off playing on its own account,
For ‘twas its way to feed my doubt.
I let it be and heard it non,
Until the sinking sun was gone.


Bridge
That night asleep, my heart rode out,
My one true knight, my loyal scout.
Armoured angel, steed of grace,
Rescued me from mind’s embrace.


Verse 4
Thursday those who know me best,
Came to play and act my guests.
From far and wide, and just a way,
My friends brought blessings to my day.


Yet one had nearly lost his life,
And I went far to share the strife.
Left my heart to comfort him,
To guide his way to peace within.


For him the foe of being left,
Doubts and fears had come to rest.
Oh steed of love, my stallion strong,
Take him where he does belong.


Bridge
And so that night my heart rode out,
My one true knight, my loyal scout.
Left me for a time to care,
For a loved one in despair.


Verse 5
Friday came, with rest for soul.
I wandered round the grassy knoll,
Upon the hill, some wagging tails,
Across the creek, a winding trail.


I wandered free from past life pain,
Until across a choice I came,
To choose but one of these three things.
To live and love and live again.


I sat and thought, and thought and sat,
And all the while my heart lay back.
Her steed asleep, she waited there,
For me to answer all her prayers.


I poked her with my toe, and she
Did smirk a while but let me be.
For she knew well which choice I’d make
Of the three, for my own sake.


Bridge
That night my heart did not ride out,
She waited on me with her mount.
We walked beneath the starlit night,
And spoke of things to her delight.


Verse 6
The eve of New Year’s Day tonight,
Lights and colours in the night.
A rumour in my soul does stir,
Falling, falling, fade and blur.
A shift in spirit tells me so,
That I live on and he must go.


What of these sparkles in the night,
When such brave men move t’ward the light,
But then perhaps the stars rose high,
To write his name across the sky.


Bridge
Late that night my heart rode out,
My one true knight, my loyal scout.
To muster all that felt the loss,
Beneath the starry Southern Cross.


Verse 7
Sunday dawns with thoughts at bay,
My heart, my steed, are in my way.
He stands there resolute, she winks
And suddenly I cannot think.
I leap upon, she squeals with joy,
For this has ever been her ploy.
To have me ride with her all day,
I hold her tight, we gallop away.


What doubts we crush,
What fears shrink back,
As we thunder down the track.
For choices three I had to make,
And now I see that ‘twas my fate.
To choose to love, not life times two,
For who would want to live in lieu?
But love … and live times two, times three.
Love IS life, I now can see.


So when your heart does wink at you,
And your noble steed is due.
Don’t hold back, but barefoot leap,
And hold your heart until she weeps
For joy, that you have chosen well,
And thru your love, your life will tell
A story you could never dream,
And sometimes it must crazy seem,
The answer to a life times two,
Is love, and love, and love so true.


Final
Thunder blends with rain and light,
It calls my heart in dark of night;
And sends word from the moon above,
That I should be much more in love.

One comment on “My Heart

  1. Brendan says:

    Hey. Supersonic poem. To paraphrase Maxwell Smart, it’s great to see you using your great talent and intelligence for niceness and love rather than silliness and suffering.

Leave a Reply

